Home » Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
40 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Oct 27, 2020
Worried tre ceramic would be broken in shipping. Not so. Very well packaged. Quality is tops. Sticker gum: used paint thinners to remove. Very well satisfied. Excellent company to deal with.

Advantages: Unique canister design.Most any canister will work when full. This "adjusts" to the content as it is depleted.
Looks nice too. Best price- includes shipping.

Disadvantages: The stoneware ceramic could chip or break if dropped or hit hard. Not too likely.
Cost relates to design idea and quality.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 1, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Best beans for delicious coffee and at a can't-be-beat-price. We have the (North American) Breville Oracle and at grind 30 it makes better coffee than you will get from any barista.

Advantages: Fabulous taste, amazing crema

Disadvantages: Shipping to Newfoundland can be hit and miss... I order 3 bags at a time.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Benoit Lamarche about  Anfim Milano CODY II Burr Grinder - Black :
Feb 17, 2020
Burrs: They look like very normal steel 64mm burrs, but the design is some kind of special (design I often see on SSP reds), and the design is clearly something that affect the grind quality a lot on this grinder. The initial alignment was near perfect: in fact, I didn't touch anything and decided to inspect/adjust after the break in period.

On demand modes: This is something huge on this grinder. The fork button is...present ? Lol. You push the button associated to the single/double dose with the allowed time you programmed for it, insert the portafilter and start the grinding process. You can remove the portafilter, level a bit and put it back to resume the grinding process, and the delay before cancelling the dosing process is programmable. I've found +/- 0.5g differences using this mode. Or, you can select to cancel the fork button, and to initiate the grinding process by pushing on the single/double dose button. If you select this mode, interruption is not possible (you can cancel/stop the process), so you can't pause to level and resume. Then, you have a seperate button on the bottom left of the grinder for manual grinding. I use it mainly for purge cycle or topping my dose as desired. Everything for any routine/workflow is available, is working with a +/- 0.5g consistency and it is ok for me.

Portafilter holder: The height of the fork is adjustable. My single, double and naked portafilters fits perfectly and are able to activate the button. The top (fixed) part of the holder is also made with a round shape to accomodate a funnel or tumbler, which is very nice: I am able to sit my shaker in place without holding it and initiate the grinding process (i've found the ''single/double button grinding mode'' perfect for this).

LCD screen: Tiny, but work as intended and easy to navigate/use. You can adjust the brightness. The location might sound weird (it is...) and not very convenient (it is a PITA), but they decided to put the chute closer to the grinding chamber/burrs to have a more direct path to reduce retention and, IMO, this is a freaking good idea instead of a nice large LCD screen.

Bottom grind tray: Very nice, but very irrelevant at the same time: the grinding process is so clean that you won't have any grounds anywhere. But you can sit a funnel/shaker/scale lol !

Hopper: The hopper can take 1 pound of beans (very flush). It might be something interesting if footprint is important for you (17 inches height, including the hopper), and there is a sliding trap to open/close the path to the grinding chamber. The hopper is pure shit for one reason: you have to unscrew three nuts to remove the hopper with the base to access the grinding chamber. This is something I don't mind, but if you switch beans often (you are ready to remove the hopper, purge, swap beans, install hopper) or you clean the grinding very often, this is a bugger. My initial tests/usage made me fuck with internals/cleaning very often and I was like ''SERIOUSLY ?!''. I will mod this major inconvenient with some cap screws that I can be screwed/unscrewed by hand without needing a socket.

Speed: Slow. This is irrelevant in a home environment, but I just don't understand how they can consider this grinder as a commercial small volume cafe. I don't care, it is not something important for me, but be ready to a 1.5g/second with this one. For me, it is a number for an irrelevant spec, but it is worth to mention. My Mahlkonigs were throwing 20g in 4 seconds lol...

Noise: Ok. Not outstanding like ''wow, this is quiet !'' or ''what the fuck is happening in the kitchen ?!''. I would say it is on the quiet side for home grinders and on the louder side for commercial grinders. Without grinding beans (not under load) it is very impressive tho, so if you plan to grind some air you will be surprised.

Vibrations: There is a small ''kick'' when initiatiing the grinding process (you can feel it if you hold the grinder with your hands), but the grinder doesn't move on the counter. When in movement, it is very smooth (impressive I would say ?) without any rattle, vibration or anything.

Grind quality: Don't get me wrong here: I pray by burrs design, burrs alignment and internal parts tolerances/durability. I've owned/played with Ceado, Mahlkonig, Mazzer, Eureka, Fiorenzato and Compak grinders: the grind quality of this one is outstanding. Period. Right out of the box, I had a very even grind (I was able to grind way much finer than usual, the pour over brews reveals barely no fines), nice extractions (bottomless/refractometer tests), an incredible fluffy grind and not a single spritzer or channeling issues. The initial 2-3 pounds revealed a lot of retention and minor clumping, but after 5-6 pounds everything went back to normal. This is a grind/level/tamp grinder: forget shaking, swirling, WDT or whatever.

Taste: Layered, ''in your face'', well defined notes. I've found my lighter roasts to be

Advantages: Grind Quality
On demand modes
Portafilter/funnel/shaker holder
Build to last

Disadvantages: Hopper
Retention
Speed
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dec 30, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
My favourite espresso.

Advantages: Perfectly balanced.
Great taste.
Good price.

Disadvantages: None.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dec 17, 2019
Clean design, user friendly, easy to program, operate and maintain.

Advantages: Makes really good espresso shots with the right grinder adjustment.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dec 11, 2019
Excellent espresso machine, easy to use and looks good too!

Advantages: Easy to use
Temperature adjustments
Volume adjustments
Two manual milk choices / Foamed or Hot Milk
Iced Coffee
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dec 5, 2019
Good Machine, Oprah's favourite thing of 2019

Advantages: The colour matches my kitchen
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 6, 2019
These replacements are better than the originals, the ones I had shipped to me had tiny square holes that don’t plug up like the original one did that had tiny round holes, just some food for thought!!

Advantages: All of the above that was stated

Disadvantages: None that I can see other than it’s a pressurized filter basket, but it suits whoever likes them, massive crema from fresh beans it’s like a frother for espresso crema!! lol
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mar 13, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great espresso at the price !! Once i dialed my grinder and temps in it makes a really nice espresso .
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Sep 11, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Quick and simple to order and fast delivery. Quality product. Happy having made business with Espresso Planet.

Advantages: Illy Pods are easy to use with no mess. Rich, dark coffee and great strong taste. I am really satisfied.

Disadvantages: None!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Aug 7, 2018
This makes an excellent ice coffee! I haven't tried it hot yet, but would imagine it also making a great latte.

Advantages: Strong flavor

Disadvantages: Aftertaste that requires some getting used to...not in a bad way, just different.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 7, 2018
Great little unit. Love the idea of no having to pure milk into the Fridge. Quality item
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 29, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
My Starbucks Barista was leaking out of the steam wand which is now fixed because of this. The old spring was weak. The gasket was filthy when I removed it. Also the screen is much better now.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Mar 27, 2016
This is a great blend. One of the best I have had for the price! I could make better stickers for the bag though ;) Call me up lets talk about it. Oh so I did give it a 5 star rating ;)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
Great unit. Little tight to pull the lid out but that's what keeps it airtight, I guess. My coffee stays fresher than it ever has.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Another must have for my Handpresso Hybrid.... Thanks you Espresso Planet for great deals
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
So glad i got this from you guys, works amazingly with my Handpresso Hybrid......Thanks again Espresso Planet...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
This is a great machine. It makes great capuccinos but not great espresso's. The frother has a small gasket which pops off easily and is easy to loose. Without the gasket the milk does not froth. The light to descale comes on often even though I use filtered water. I think this is a bit of a scam to get you to buy their descaler products.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
The milk chiller keeps milk COLD and dispenses properly. One of the best dispensers we have ever used.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
These Cafelat cups are hands down a staff favourite at espresso planet!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
I think this is a very poular coffee in Europe -- rightly so. It has balanced taste. Also, I can grind it consistently to get the right expresso strength all the time. Some brands are not connsistent enough, and with a given fineness level on the grinder, produce expresso of verying strenth.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bought this machine a few weeks at Espressoplanet where excellent hands-on demo and tasking were provided. It's working well with intutive instructions and manuals. Both long coffee and espressso drinker will enjoy it with rish aroma and crema. Recommend it to all!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
what are the grinder specs.......programable grind etc
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
I have owned this machine for 2 weeks and I am very happy. While this machine is not cheap it does offer exactly what I was looking for. Its fast, simple, clean and makes a very good cup of espresso. If you are like me and are not going to put the time into "mastering" the are of espresso/latte making this will get you 90% of the way. The frother is great and the espresso is better then the supper autos I have tried.

Ps.. when you get it home make sure the milk wand is down and you don't use pre-filtered water or it won't heat up. However Breville service is friendly and amazingly competent.

Highly recommended.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Won this as part of the 15th anniversary contest. Easy to use and makes a very good cup of coffee! Always use fresh beans!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

 
Copyright © 1999-2020 Espresso Planet - Supramatic Inc.
Copyright (1996) 1999-2020 Espresso Planet. All Rights Reserved. Certain names, logos, designs, titles, words or phrases constitute trademarks, service marks or trade names of Espresso Planet, SupraMatic Inc., Schaerer Ltd., Thermoplan Ltd., Breville, Delonghi, Jura, Solis, Saeco, Krups, Capresso, Gaggia, Rancillio, Rocket, Nespresso, Illy, Lavazza
Sales - Wholesale - Service and Repair of Espresso Machines and Coffee Makers in Canada - USA - Toronto - Mississauga - Ontario - Victoria - Vancouver - Calgary - Edmonton - Saskatoon - Regina - Winnipeg - Thunder Bay - Sudbury - Windsor - London - Kitchener - Barrie - Oakville - Kingston - Ottawa - Montreal - Quebec - Fredericton - Moncton - Halifax - St. John's - British Columbia - Alberta - Saskatchewan - Manitoba - Quebec - New Brunswick - Nova Scotia - Newfoundland